In My Beautiful Dual Purpose Balloon

The Moxie Fab World challenge is so fun right now: In My Beautiful Balloon. I have been fascinated by hot air balloons for years and think it would be fun to one day go to the hot air balloon festival in Albuquerque, New Mexico. Every time I see one in the sky I get a sharp intake of breath and can’t imagine what it would be like to have a balloon’s eye view of things.

My card includes a hot air balloon made out of two different types of ribbon (I don’t have any hot air balloon paper or stamps) with a cork basket. I used the Tim Holtz rays embossing folder so it would look like the sun’s rays were emanating behind the balloon. I have a deep love for mountains so I made my own mountains and tried to distinguish the edge of the mountain with vintage glass. For some reason I had the star spangled banner in my head and kept mixing up amber mountains majesty and purple fields of grain, so my mountains are amber rather than purple. My favorite part of the mountains are waterfalls, so I tried to make my own little waterfall with blue ric rac ribbon.

Before I put my card together I was trying really hard to be innovative/creative. For some reason it just wasn’t working for me. I started pushing my balloon around and tried a few different things. Then I turned it upside down and thought it would look great as a vase with a single flower in it, but it definitely loses its balloonness. I figured I could show the picture anyway. I tried to use the same elements in this card as I did in the first card, with some minor changes. It just goes to show the zillions of different ways people can make paper crafts. I love it!

If you haven’t already stopped on by Moxie Fab World’s World Challenge you should. It’s really uplifting! Be blessed, kiesa

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to In My Beautiful Dual Purpose Balloon

  1. Cath says:

    Hey Kiesa! Thanks for linking this up to the In My Beautiful Balloon Challenge in the Moxie Fab World! I’m so glad you joined in on all the fun! 🙂

Leave a Reply

